Holy Days

  1. Shabbat (Sabbath):

    • Observance: Weekly, from Friday evening to Saturday evening.

    • Significance: Christians should observe Shabbat similarly to traditional Jews, with prayers, scripture readings, rest, and sometimes communal gatherings that include teachings about Jesus' teachings and significance.

  2. Passover (Pesach):

    • Observance: Typically observed in the spring, in March or April.

  3. Feast of Unleavened Bread:

    • Observance: Directly follows Passover.

    • Significance: Christians should focus on the removal of leaven (symbolizing sin) from homes and lives.

  4. Feast of First fruits (Yom HaBikkurim):

    • Observance: Celebrated during Passover.

    • Significance: Represents the offering of the first fruits of the barley harvest.

  5. Shavuot (Pentecost):

    • Observance: Observed fifty days after Passover, in late spring.

    • Significance: Commemorates the giving of the Torah (Law) at Mount Sinai.

  6. Rosh Hashanah (Jewish New Year) and Yom Kippur (Day of Atonement):

    • Observance: These High Holy Days are observed in the fall, usually in September or October.

    • Significance: Christians may observe Rosh Hashanah with traditional prayers and the sounding of the shofar (ram's horn), reflecting on God's sovereignty and judgment. Yom Kippur is observed with fasting, prayer for forgiveness, and seeking reconciliation with God and others, often understanding Jesus' sacrifice as the ultimate atonement.

  7. Sukkot (Feast of Tabernacles):

    • Observance: Celebrated in the fall, shortly after Yom Kippur.

    • Significance: Christians may observe Sukkot by dwelling in temporary shelters (sukkot) to remember God's provision and protection during the Israelites' wilderness journey.

  8. Hanukkah (Festival of Lights):

    • Observance: Celebrated in December.

    • Significance: Commemorates the rededication of the Second Temple in Jerusalem.

Last updated